Become a Local Leader

Run for city council, town board, or school board - 

we'll help you with all the details. Contact



Cortez City Council

Ph: 970-564-4008
Fx: 970-565-8172

Meetings: 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month 7:30 pm

Work sessions begin at 6 pm preceding council meetings

123 Roger Smith Ave., Cortez

Elections: First Tuesday in April in even numbered years


Election day: April 7th, 2020

5 seats open, 14 petitions approved:

3 seats with four-year terms

2 seats with two-year terms

The 3 candidates with the highest number of votes

are elected to the seats with four-year terms.

The 2 candidates with the next highest number of votes

are elected to the seats with two-year terms.

Dolores Board of Trustees

Ph: (970) 882-7720

Meetings: 2nd Monday of every month at 6:30 p.m.

Workshops: 4th Monday of every month at 6:30 pm

420 Central Avenue, Dolores, CO

Elections: First Tuesday in April in even numbered years

Election day: April 7th, 2020

We need at least 3 candidates to run: 

Chad Wheelus, term limited, Seat 1

Duvall Truelson, term limited, Seat 2

Cody Folsom, term limited, Seat 3

James Biard, term limited, Seat 4

Mancos Board of Trustees

Ph: 970-533-7725
Fx: 970-533-7727

Meetings: 2nd and 4th Wednesday of each month at 7:00 pm

Workshops: 2nd Wednesday of each month at 6 pm

117 North Main Street, Mancos, CO

Elections: First Tuesday in April in even numbered years

Election day: April 7th, 2020

We need at least 2 candidates to run:

Ellen "Queen" Barz, term limited *

Craig Benally, term limited

Ed Hallam, term limited

Cindy Simpson, term limited

*The mayoral election is separate

Ute Mountain Ute Tribal Council

Ph: (970) 565-3751

124 W. Mike Wash Road Tribal Complex

P.O. Drawer JJ
Towaoc, CO

Montezuma County Commissioners

Ph: (970) 565-8317
Fx: (970) 565-3420

Meetings: Most Tuesdays at 9:00

(check the website weekly for agenda and location changes)

109 West Main Street, Cortez, CO, 2nd floor Commissioner's Board Room

Elections first Tuesday in November in even numbered years


Keenan Ertel, (Cortez)

Term expires 2020

Vice Chairman

Larry Don Suckla (Mancos)

Term expires 2020

Commissioner of Deeds

Jim Candelaria

(Pleasant View)

Term expires 2022


House District 58

Marc Catlin

200 E Colfax

RM 307

Denver, CO 80203


Term expires 2020

Senate District 6

Don Coram

200 E Colfax

RM 346

Denver, CO 80203

Term expires 2020


Jared Polis

Office of the Governor
136 State Capitol Bldg
Denver, CO 80203

(303) 866-2471

Term expires 2022 


3rd Congressional District of Colorado

Representative Scott Tipton

Washington, D.C. Office

218 Cannon HOB

Washington, DC 20515

P: (202) 225-4761
F: (202) 226-9669
M-F 9:00 – 5:00 ET

Durango Office

835 E. Second Avenue

Suite 230

Durango, CO 81301

P: (970) 259-1490
F: (970) 259-1563
M, T, Th, F 8:30 – 5:00 MT

Term expires 2020


Michael Bennet

Washington, D.C. Office

261 Russell Senate Office Building

Washington DC 20510

(202) 224-5852

Durango Office

835 East 2nd Avenue

Suite 206
Durango, CO 81301
Ph: 970-259-1710
Fx: 970-259-9789

Term expires 2022

Corey Gardner

Washington, D.C. Office

354 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, D.C. 20510
Ph: (202) 224-5941 
Fx:  (202) 224-6524

Durango Office

329 S. Camino Del Rio

Suite I
Durango, CO 81303
Ph: (970) 259-1231
Fx: (970) 259-4276

Term expires 2020

© 2023 by Don Richards. Proudly created with

Contact Us:


P.O. Box 1035

Cortez, CO 81321

Email us.

Paid for by:

Montezuma County Democrats

Not authorized by any candidate or candidate committee.