top of page

Montezuma County Democratic Party Leaders

Executive Committee Members

The Executive Committee meets monthly to carry out the business of the Montezuma County Democratic Party Central Committee. This includes developing a proposed annual budget, designing & implementing training, coordinating with candidate campaigns, planning GOTV activities, participating on Colorado Democratic Party committees and Initiatives, and many other important functions. 

Meet Our Officers

Party officers are elected by the Montezuma County Central Committee members for two-year terms in odd-numbered years. The current officers will serve until our next reorganization in February 2025. 

Mary Dodd, Chair; Chair JD22, HD 59, & CO Rural Initiative; 2nd VC CD 3

Russell Taylor, 1st Vice Chair Political Engagement

Helen West, Secretary

Susan Rain, Treasurer

Jeanne Becker, Assistant Treasurer

Megg Heath, Parliamentarian

Comments or Questions for the Executive Committee? Email us here.


Finance & Fundraising

Chair: Susan Rain

Members: Jeanne Becker, Alan Rolston, Russ Taylor, Mary Dodd



Chair: Roanne Kuenzler

Members: Miriam Dunbar, Mary Dodd

Candidate Development & Support

Chair: Lance McDaniel

Members: MB McAfee, Russell Taylor, Mike Lavey, Gail Lavey

Vacancy in Nomination

The executive officers

State Central Committee

Mary Dodd, Russell Taylor, Susan Rain, Lance McDaniel

CD 3 Central Committee

Mary Dodd, Russell Taylor, Lance McDaniel, Miriam Dunbar

HD 59 Central Committee

Automatic: Mary Dodd, Russell Taylor, Helen West

Bonus: Dr. Sue Garlick, Alan Rolston

SD 6 Central Committee

Automatic: Mary Dodd, Russell Taylor, Helen West

Bonus: Roanne Kuenzler

JD 22 Central Committee

Automatic: Mary Dodd, Russell Taylor

Bonus: Dianne Daniel, Meghan Vosloo

HD 58 Central Committee

Appointed: MB McAfee, Dianne Daniel, Susan Rain


At-Large Members

Lorna Alexander                                          Jody Schwindt  

Central Committee

Composition: The Precinct Organizers (formerly called Precinct Committee people), the officers of each house, senate, congressional, judicial, and county commissioner district, the officers of the central committee, together with any state or national Democratic Party officers, elected county public officials, state senator and state representatives, United States senators and congressional representatives and other elected state public officials who are members of the Democratic Party and who reside within Montezuma County, shall constitute the membership of the MCDP central committee. Democrats elected to local office may vote but will not be counted in the quorum, as their attendance is not required. Find a list of central committee members here.


Meetings:  At the very least the central committee meets for the biennial re-organization meeting in February of odd-numbered years; and to approve the annual budget usually in November or December. Electronic voting by email is permitted in our bylaws. 

bottom of page