Montezuma County Democratic Party Leaders


Montezuma County Democratic Party Officers are volunteers elected by the Montezuma County Central Committee for two-year terms in odd-numbered years. The current officers will serve until February 2023. Resignations are filled according to our Bylaws.

                           Executive Committee


Chair: Mary Dodd

1st Vice-Chair - Political Engagement: Patrick Piller                                                           

Secretary: Dianne Daniel

Treasurer: Susan Rain



Candidate Development & Support: Chair: Lance McDaniel;

Members: MB McAfee, Mary Dodd

Finance: Chair: Susan Rain

Members: Mary Dodd, Steve Duncan, Alan Rolston


Outreach: Chair: Roanne Kuenzler

Members: Miriam Dunbar, Steve Duncan, Mary Dodd

At-Large Members

Lorna Alexander

Jennifer Singer

Megg Heath

Rebecca Busic

Other Committees

Vacancy: The Executive Officers constitute the Vacancy in Nomination Committee

State Central Committee: Mary Dodd, Patrick Piller, Lance McDaniel

CD 3 Central Committee: Mary Dodd, Patrick Piller, Lance McDaniel

State Executive Committee: Mary Dodd, Patrick Piller

Monthly Business Meeting: 3rd Wednesday of the month, 6 pm. Meeting can be hybrid, in-person, or remote. All are welcome. Contact Mary Dodd for details. Attendance is required of Executive Committee members and only EC members may vote. 

Central Committee

Composition: The Precinct Organizers (formerly called Precinct Committee people), the officers of each house, senate, congressional, judicial, and county commissioner district, the officers of the central committee, together with any state or national Democratic Party officers, elected county public officials, state senator and state representatives, United States senators and congressional representatives and other elected state public officials who are members of the Democratic Party and who reside within Montezuma County, shall constitute the membership of the MCDP central committee. Democrats elected to local office may vote but will not be counted in the quorum, as their attendance is not required.


Meetings:  At the very least the central committee meets for the biennial re-organization meeting in February of odd-numbered years; and to approve the annual budget usually in November or December. Electronic voting by email is permitted in our bylaws. Special meetings may be called according to the rules specified in our bylaws.


Mailing: PO Box 1035 Cortez, CO 81321

Physical: 2409 E. Empire Cortez, CO 81321

Email: Executive Committee